The importance of having a positive attitude…

The pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty.

–Winston Churchill

This month’s class blog subject is about the importance of having a positive attitude. As we all know, there are times in life when we will face problems and obstacles. I truly believe that the biggest challenge in life is often not the actual obstacle itself, but our reaction to it.

People with a positive attitude will treat any problem as a challenge. Instead of being discouraged, they are encouraged. They see the lesson to be learned instead of the failure that has happened. People who lack a positive attitude however, see problems and difficulties in an entirely different manner. It often overwhelms and immobilizes them. They are hopeless instead of hopeful. They see the glass half empty instead of half full.

I believe having a positive attitude is essential to living a happy, healthy and fulfilled life. It isn’t always easy to see the best in tough situations, but I think the key to having a good attitude is to  identify negative thoughts and try to put a positive spin on them. I make it a daily goal to try to see the good in every situation. I immerse myself in stories and articles that are inspirational rather than negative. Having a positive attitude is a conscious decision  that I choose to make. I cannot control all circumstances in my life, but I can control how I react to them.

Additional resources:

Positive thinking: Reduce stress, enjoy life more

Power of a super attitude

Leave a Reply

