New opportunities…being a graphic designer in a digital age

I have been working as a graphic designer for over a decade and love it.  I love the feel of textured paper and the smell of a newly printed brochure fresh off the press. I love looking at glossy magazines, clever  book designs, interesting direct mail pieces and have shelves full of inspirational design books. However, it has become clear to me that we are living in a digital age and in order to maintain relevance in this industry, it is essential to understand the principles of web development. I admit that as a designer, I find HTML code frustrating, confusing and a bit intimidating. That is probably why I have put off taking courses in the past.

I feel that more and more companies today understand the growing importance of building a strong online presence. They understand that we live in an age of “instant information” and as mobile technology & web applications become more popular, they are going to seek design professionals that not only can provide them with amazing print collateral, they are looking for designers who understand that web applications and web interfaces are the future of advertising. I definitely believe that being fluent in web design and code will make me more marketable in today’s workforce. I am both excited and terrified to embark on this journey but know in the end it will be worth it.

Related Links:

How to stay ahead of the curve as a designer

10 essential skills every graphic designer should have

Leave a Reply

